MDOT District 2 Equipment Operators Rodeo winners

Published 9:07 pm Tuesday, April 11, 2023

The Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) held its annual Equipment Operators Roadeo for District 2 at the district office in Batesville on Thursday, April 6.  

“Safety and efficiency are our top priorities,” said Commissioner John Caldwell, Northern Transportation District. “These roadeos give MDOT frontline workers an opportunity to improve and enhance the techniques and skills they use on the job .”

Focusing on efficiency and skill, MDOT’s roadeos provide employees with an opportunity to display their mastery of vehicle handling, trailer maneuvering and heavy equipment precision. 

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The event and judging criteria provide feedback and help operators evaluate their strengths and challenges. Operators improve techniques and learn new skills while engaging in some friendly competition.

District 2 event winners are as follows:

  • Lowboy: First Place – Thomas R. Goode; Second Place – Joshua Hankins; Third Place  – Mickey Smith.
  • Single-Axle Dump Truck: First Place – James S. Anderson; Second Place – Edward T. “Tyrone” Thompson ; Third Place – Shaun R. Dees.
  • Tandem-Axle Dump Truck: First Place – Justin Applewhite; Second Place – Mickey Smith; Third Place – Edward T. “Tyrone” Thompson.
  • Backhoe: First Place – Thomas R. Goode; Second Place – Brower Nick; Third Place – David Manual.
  • Motor Grader: First Place – Thomas E. “Tom” Malone; Second Place – Thomas R. Goode; Third Place – Tommy C. Rogers.
  • Bushhog: First Place – Joshua L. Hood; Second Place – Bobby J. Bell; Third Place – Anthony D. DeNuzio.

Winners are left to right in each photo. Also pictured in each photo is District 2 Engineer James Mitch Turner (far left) and District 2 Maintenance Engineer Brian Childs (far right).

The top two winners from each event advance to the state finals. At the state competition, winners from all six districts will compete and a state champion will be crowned.

For more information about the Equipment Operators Roadeo, visit