Final prep for SpringFest underway

Published 4:43 pm Thursday, May 16, 2019

Staff Report

The Downtown Square will begin to be changed and traffic rerouted on Wednesday as officials plan for SpringFest 2019, the 21st annual music festival held in Batesville.

PBJ Happee Day Shows of Marion, Ark., will return with a variety of carnival style games and rides from the spectacular to kiddie versions for small children. Once again children will squeal with excitement and their parents will squeal at the ticket prices, but the Batesville Square will be abuzz with activity beginning Thursday when the first of the rides will be moved into town.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Last year the rides were not confined to the Square and are again expected to use part of Broadway along the railroad tracks to offer more rides. The festival begins Friday afternoon when the Square will be fully blocked to traffic soon after the last school buses routes are completed.

Live music will start Friday night and continue Saturday and into the evening when country music legend Marty Stuart will close the festival with a show that is scheduled for 9 p.m.

On Saturday, the annual Racing for Paws 5K will start the day and other activities will follow, including the popular North Mississippi Cornhole Classic and fun opportunities for children available in the Kids Korner, sponsored and manned by the Batesville Junior Auxiliary.

A variety of food choices will also tempt festival goers from the concession booths and food trucks.

The Batesville Police Department will have all personnel available all weekend, and officials are hoping for another year of safe fun for all residents. Last year’s event yielded just one arrest, and he was charged after the festival ended Saturday night when he got into an argument about refunds for unused ride tickets.

On the musical lineup, the following acts are scheduled: Billy Gibson Blues Band, Jason Miller Band, Eleven Point, Keith Sanders, Madrik (new Oxford band), John Thomas Griffith, Dirty Streets, J.R. Moore, and headliner Marty Stuart.