Election today to select trustees 11/5/2013

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Election today to select trustees

By Rupert Howell
North Panola School’s board of trustees will be elected today, the only contest on this year’s general election ballot.

Votes will be counted following poll closing at the Batesville Courthouse according to Panola County Circuit Clerk Melissa Meek-Phelps.

Only three of the five positions are contested in North Panola and all candidates will be on Tuesday’s ballot.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

An uncontested school trustee in the South Panola district will not be on the ballot. Incumbent Jerry Cooley will be declared winner as no one chose to challenge him for the five year term.
In North Panola, District Two candidates include Cecil Dowden, Verna Lasha Hunter and Dietrick Johnson. If no candidates receives a majority, there will be a runoff election for that position.

District Four candidates include Patsy Jackson and Patricia Wright Lamar.

In District Five, candidates Trosiki Pettis and Mary G. “Kay” Wolfe face each other.

District One candidate Deborah Armstrong Tucker and District Three candidates Chris Fairlee are the unopposed candidates.

Voters can vote for only the candidates in their trustee district. Trustees traditionally run for five-year staggered terms, but since the entire board is being elected, trustee term lengths will coincide with their district number. Such as district one will serve for one year when the position will be open again for a five-year term. District two trustee will serve for two years and that position will be open again for a five-year term, etc.

Voting hours are from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. at regular county voting precincts.