Published 12:00 am Sunday, December 18, 2011

Swearing-in set for new sheriff, other officials

By Rita Howell

Panola County’s newly-elected officials will be sworn in for a four-year term in a joint ceremony on Wednesday, December 28 at the Panola County courthouse in Batesville.  

Circuit Judge Jimmy McClure will conduct the ceremony, said County Administrator Kelley Magee, who is organizing the event.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The ceremony will take place at  1 p.m.

Taking the oath of office will be: Sheriff Dennis Darby, Chancery Clerk Jim Pitcock; Circuit Clerk Melissa Meek-Phelps; Tax Collector/Assessor David Garner; Coroner Gracie Grant-Gulledge;

County Attorney Charlie Gaines Baker; Justice Court Judge District 1 Mike Wilson; Justice Court Judge District 2 Willie E. “Bill” Joiner; Constable District 1 Eric “Buck” Harris; Constable District 2 Raye Hawkins;

District 1 Supervisor James Birge; District 2 Supervisor Vernice Avant; District 3 Supervisor John Thomas; District 4 Supervisor Kelly Morris and District 5 Supervisor Cole Flint.

Many of the candidates won election in party primaries in August and the General Election in November.