North Delta Banquet

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 7, 2008

ND hands out athletic awards at banquet

By Myra Bean and Angie Ledbetter
North Delta held its Athletic Banquet Thursday, May 1 and handed out over 170 awards.

Various Green Wave coaches were noted as being selected coach of the year in their various sports.

The district champion football coaching staff of Richard Russo, Lance Thomas and Brad Wilson was the 1A coaching staff of the year. for the varsity and junior high teams.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Brooke Turner was the 1A softball coach of the year.

In varsity  girls basketball, Phil Douglas was selected the District 1A coach of the year. In junior high boys, Wilson was the coach of the year.

Some overall athletic awards include: Heisman Award: Josh Garrott; scholar athletes Samantha Massoth, Linsey Hebert, Austin Jenkins and Kathryn Eckles.

Softball awards went to Most Valuable Player (MVP), Melanie Gaters; All District: Lauren Tidwell, Courtney McCullar and Vicki Johnson.

Honored as a UCA All-star cheerleader was junior high cheerleader Charla Shea Darby.

In junior high football, defensive lineman Jim Tom Copeland received the season long game ball, along with Bryan Nickle for overall offense.

In varsity football, the Brandon Presley Award was given to Bateman Greelee. The 2007 summer workout award went to Britt Lawrence. Senior game ball awards went to Michael Johnson, posthumously; Josh Garrott and Clayton Cole. Robbie Bell was the practice player of the year.

District MVP was Jim Tyler  Dalrymple. Johnson was also named All-District, along with Dalrymple, Hunter West, Bateman Greelee, John Paul Keel, Andy Barns and Lawrence. Dalrymple was also MPSA second team as a cornerback.

Lifetime captain awards went to Dalrymple, Josh Garrott and Don Phelps.

In varsity girls basketball, All-District players were Madison Greenlee, Sara Waldrip and honorable mention Lauren Kimzey.

Team awards were heart of  a champion: Waldrip; playmaker, Madison Greenlee; most improved: Samantha Massoth; best offense: Kimzey; and sixth man: Bradi Beard.

In junior varsity girls basketball team awards announced included: playmaker: Katelyn Still; best defense: Hanna Greenlee; most improved: Mary Jane Morrow; sixth man: Jordan Pointer; best offense: Beard; heart of a champion: Laci DuBravec.

The golf team announced five members were state qualifiers: Alan Larson, Matthew Barefoot, Bryan Nickle and Tres Brasell.

In junior high boys basketball, awards were presented in: best all around and best defense: Bryan Nickle; best offense: Jim Tom Copeland;  best 3-point percentage: Corbin Baker; hustle award: Michael Magee; and rebound and most improved: Tres Brasell.

Varsity boys basketball was awarded in: best all around and offense: Taylor Herron; best defense: Geri Lamm; best 3-point percentage: John Terry Moore; Hustle: Bateman Greenlee; Rebound: Michael Johnson; and Most Improved: Hunter West.

Named All-district were John Terry Moore and Michael Johnson and honorable mention Taylor Herron.

Tennis players were recognized. Jordan Pointer is the No. 1 girls single district champion. Haley Legge and Hanna Greenlee were district champions in No. 1 girls doubles. John Terry Moore was the district runner up in No. 1 boys singles.

In varsity baseball, Seth Barnett was named All-District and Michael Magee was honorable mention.