North Delta Awards Banquet

Published 12:00 am Friday, May 11, 2007

North Delta honors outstanding athletes

Recently, North Delta held its annual awards banquet, honoring participants in all sports.

Receiving fastpitch softball awards were:

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Most Valuable Player: Lauren Tidwell;

Best Offense: Courtney McCullar;

Best Defense: Samantha Massoth;

Hustle Award, Bradi Beard;

and Most Improved: Laci Dubravec.

Receiving Jr. High girls basketball awards were:

Best Offensive: Sara Waldrip;

Best Defensive: Lauren Kimzey;

Heart of a Champion: Linsey Hebert;

Leadership Award: Samantha Massoth;

and Playmaker Award: Madison Greenlee.

In Jr. High boys basketball receiving awards were:

Most Improved: Jim Tom Copeland;

Most Valuable Player: Geri Lamm;

Best Offense: Bryan Nickle;

and Best Defense: Geri Lamm.

Receiving awards in varsity girls basketball were:

Coach’s Award: Emily Brown;

Best All Around: Kathleen Snyder;

and Most Improved: Rebecca Maxcy.

Varsity boys basketball awards were presented to:

Best Defensive Player: Evan West;

Best Offensive Player: Brandon White;

Best Rebounder: Dakota Mabry;

Best Three-Point Shooter: John Terry Moore;

Most Improved: Taylor Herron;

Senior Award: Austin Boling;

and Best All Around: Brandon White.

Jr. High cheerleader awards were presented to:

Morgan Lawrence, captain; Casey Beard, co-captain; Haley Legge and Elizabeth Burkhalter.

Caroline Moore received the Senior High Cheerleader award as captain.

The North Delta baseball team which played in the playoffs were presented district awards. Receiving district awards were:

All District: Bateman Greenlee, Evan West, Dakota Mabry and Jim Tyler Dalrymple.

Honorable Mention All-District awards went to Jon Michael Ware and Josh Garrott.

The team pitching award went to Evan West and the hitting award went to Dakota Mabry.    

Football Athletic Awards that were presented include:

Three-year senior awards:  Nick Douglas, Evan West, Jim Beard, Dakota Mabry and Jon Michael Ware;

Six-year senior watch awards:  Nick Douglas, Evan West, Jim Beard and Dakota Mabry;

2006 Game Ball Awards:   Dakota Mabry, Jon Michael Ware, J.T. Dalrymple, Blane Joyner, Nick Douglas, Britton Crawford, Evan West, Josh Garrott, Britt Lawrence and Hunter West;

2006 Brandon Presley Spring Award – Jon Michael Ware;

2006 Practice Player of the Year Award – Britt Lawrence;

2006 Lift-a-Thon Champions- Varsity – Britton Crawford; Jr. High, Travis Overall;

2006-2007 Eugene Thornton Award – Senior Brandon White and Junior  Josh Garrott;

2006-2007 Chad McMahan Award – 8th grade – Mitchel Babb and 7th grade Luke Williams;

2006-2007 Michael Meurrier Award – sophomore  Hunter West and Freshman Thomas Womble;

Lifetime Captains:  Offense – Dakota Mabry; Defense – Evan West; Special Teams – Nick Douglas;

2006 MPSA all-star Dakota Mabry;

2006 District 1-1A all-district      Dakota Mabry, middle linebacker; Evan West – outside linebacker; Josh Garrott, strong safety; Josh Ratliff, defensive end; J.T. Dalrymple, punter;

2006 District 1-1A Honorable Mention     Nick Douglas, free safety; Britton Crawford, center; Dakota Mabry, fullback; J.T. Dalrymple, quarterback; and Andy Barns, offensive tackle.

Track awards were presented to:

Varsity – District Champions Dakota Mabry, shot put; and Nick Douglas, 100 meter dash;

District runners-up J.T. Dalrymple, 100 meter dash and Linsey Hebert, 100 meter hurdles;

Junior High track – District champion: Linsey Hebert, 100 meter hurdles.

Tennis recognition went to captains John Terry Moore and Maggie Williams.

Golf Medalist Seth Barnett was honored.