Sports / Outdoors – 5/9/2003

Published 12:00 am Friday, May 9, 2003

Panolian Sports Headlines: May 9, 2003

For complete stories,
pick up the 5/09/03  issue of The Panolian

SP Football Players
Honored With Banquet
Seniors honored at the recent South Panola football banquet include (front, l to r) James Barksdale, Jason Ales, Marvin Casey, William Johnson, manager Vaughn Sanford; (back, l to r) James Williams, Justin Lee, Jarikk Smith, Jonathon Webster, Marlon Adair, Trey Poole, Dexter Corner, Tijah Wright, Javar Pollard, Mario Chapman and Rickey Wright.

BATESVILLE – The South Panola 2002 football team was honored with an athletic banquet recently.

Jack Crowe, head coach of the Jacksonville State University Gamecocks, was the guest speaker. He was introduced by David Saunders, head football coach at Millsaps.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

South Panola head football coach Ricky Woods, along with the rest of the coaching staff, presented each player with a certificate of participation and a video tape of the highlights of the season.

Receiving special recognition were players chosen for for all region and all-state honors.

Quarterback Rickey Wright, who signed to play with Mississippi State, was the All-State quarterback. Junior Jamarca Sanford was chosen as all-state linebacker.

Selected All-Region 1-5A were: Wright, overall Most Valuable Player (MVP); Sanford, Defensive MVP; Quinton Hankins, Hollis Hoskins, Trey Poole, offensive linemen; Javar Pollard, offensive back; Mario Chapman, receiver; Tijah Wright, defensive lineman; James Barksdale, linebacker; and Jonathan Webster, defensive back.

Selected Second Team All-Region 1-5A were: Marcus Griffin, offensive back; Dexter Corner, linebacker; Jason Ales, defensive end; and Marvin Casey, offensive line.

Bolen Signs
South Panola slow pitch and fast pitch softball player Amanda Bolen (front, c) signed to play fast pitch softball at Northwest Community College next year.  Bolen has been a starter on the South Panola ball teams since the eighth grade.

Witnessing her signing were her parents Kenny and Melissa Bolen (front) and (back, l to r) Don Clanton, head coach Northwest and Kim Wilson, head coach at South Panola.

ND Golf Team Falls Short at State
MERIDIAN – The North Delta Green Wave golf team fell short in its bid for its first ever state title.

The Green Wave won the AA State Championship last week and vied for  the overall championship Tuesday, May 6
The tournament was held at Northwood Country Club in Meridian.

Lamar was the overall winner with a score of 304. The other teams are as follows: Jackson Prep 316, Presbyterian Christian 319, Jackson Academy 322, North Delta 329, DeSoto (Ark.) 334, Winston 336, Prairie View (La.) 339.

Lamar (304) – Clay Bounds 74, Derrick Smith 76, Winston Powell 77,

J.T. Williamson 77, Reid Kennedy 82, Nick Brown 83.

Jackson Prep (316) – Matt Burrow 74, Jonathan Randolph 79, Becker Sams 81, Robert Aiken 82, Blake Allen 87, Stewart Young 87.

Presbyterian Christian (319) – Austin Bowen 74, Rocky Cleland 79, Adam Doleac 81, Logan Stephenson 85, Will Price 95, Ashston Johnson 114.

Jackson Academy (322) – Joseph Spinosa 78, Jake Lambert 81, Daniel Austin 81, John Senter 82, Mark McKinnon 85, Andrew Heard 90.

North Delta (329) – Will Crowley 80, Jeremy Aldridge 81, Drew Baker 84, Scott Powers 84, Clint Egbert 90.

DeSoto (334) – Josh Wilson 81, Drew Fielder 81, Matthew Lewis 85, Kyle Gaston 87, Casey Patterson 89, Gina Sharp 91.

Winston (336) – Justin Eaves 82, Corey Hancock 82, Josh Gresham 84, Paul McMillin 88, Taylor Paschal 89, Michael Kelly 102.

Prairie View (339) – Heath Hines 80, Luke Cook 85, Jacob McCrary 85, Will Hodges 89.

Individuals – Will Dottley, MRA (medalist) 71; Kevin Jones, Copiah 74; Travis Myers, Glenbrook 77; Buck Brown, Heritage 81; Lee Jones, Trinity Episcopal 82; Craig Smith, Brookhaven Academy 83; William Hathorn, Prentiss Christian 85; Corey Williamson, Prentiss Christian 86; Hugh Muse, Pillow 87; Patrick Barnes, Prentiss Christian 99.87.


North Delta Awards Athletes at Banquet

North Delta coach Michael Specks (l) receives a gift from North Delta booster club outgoing president Kirk Willingham at the Athletic Banquet. Specks announced he will not be at North Delta next year.


BATESVILLE – The North Delta Booster Club hosted its annual Athletic Awards Banquet recently.

Athletes were honored in the basketball, track, baseball, golf, tennis and softball by the North Delta coaching staff. The coaching staff was in turn honored by the Booster Club with Kirk Willingham as the outgoing president. Incoming booster president Jim Beard was handed the keys at the end of the banquet.

In fastpitch softball, Madison Kilgore received the coach’s award from head coach Larry Britt. the senior award went to Kate Robison.

The team Most Valuable Player (MVP) was Megan Egbert who batted .364 before the tournament. In the tournament she batted .625 and hit one homerun.

Baseball awards were presented by head coach and athletic director Rick Johnston.

All-Conference Honorable Mention in baseball were Patrick Ellis, Dakota Mabry and Dustin Maples. All-Conference first team members were Hal West with two homeruns, Cody Hallmark and Pittman Harrison.

Team awards were presented to: Hallmark, best pitcher; Dustin Maples, most improved; Dakota Mabry, coach’s award; Pittman Harrison, best defensive player; and Hal West, leading hitter.

Tripp Sanders and Jeremy Aldridge were recognized as seniors on the golf team.

Judy Wood recognized members of the tennis team. The tennis team won four matches for the season, two district and two non-district.

Seniors recognized were Brittany Flippo, three years and Jessica Downs, four years.

Other awards for the girls went to: Madison Kilgore, most improved; and Mallory Nix, MVP, won four matches.

Tennis awards for the boys were presented to: Russ Belk and Harrison Nickle, most improved and Currie Martin, MVP, undefeated in the regular season.

Coach Lance Thomas recognized the junior high track boys. They placed first in three meets.

Coach Michael Specks, who announced he was leaving at the end of the year, recognized three varsity girls who ran in the state meet: Abigail Broome, Sadie Broome and Ashley Golden.

Specks also presented basketball awards. For the junior high girls, receiving awards were: Candice Reed, coach’s award; Christan Bailey, most improved; Audrey Morgan, best offensive player; Nikki Darby, best offensive player; and Casey Whitworth, MVP.

Coach Thomas recognized the junior high basketball boys who caused some upsets in the district tournament.

Receiving awards were: Jacob Gurley, coach’s award; Pittman Harrison, best defensive player; Forrest Wilbanks, best offensive player; Dakota Mabry, most improved; and Heath Reed, MVP.

Specks recognized the varsity girls team who are the district champs. Being recognized for All-Tournament players were Alex Rice, Jeri Boren and Kate Robison. Name to the All-Conference team were robison and Boren.

Team awards were presented to: Brittany Flippo, coach’s award; Emily Moore, most improved; Leslie Wilson, best defensive player; Jeri Boren, best offensive player; and Kate Robison, MVP.

Specks also presented awards to varsity boys basketball team. Recognition was given to the only senior on the team Zac Gurley. Receiving awards were: Will Crowley, coach’s award; Drew Baker, most improved; Harrison Nickle, best defensive player; Andrew Wood, best offensive player; and Hank Spragins, MVP.

Junior High Cheerleader awards went to Mary Ann Moore, All-Star cheerleader; Christan Bailey, 3 year award; and Ashley Golden, 3 year award.