Shegog was nominee for Conerly Trophy

Published 4:54 pm Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Staff Reports

Delta State freshman quarterback and former South Panola standout Patrick Shegog was recently named the ten nominees for the 23rd annual C-Spire Conerly Trophy which goes to the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi.

The award was held last Tuesday at the Country Club of Jackson. Mississippi State defensive end Jeffery Simmons was the recipient of this year’s award. Named after College Football Hall of Famer Charlie Conerly, the Clarksdale native who starred at Ole Miss and the New York Giants, the trophy was first conferred in 1996.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox