Panola run-off election

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, November 23, 2010


By Billy Davis

Panola County’s interim sheriff was winning tonight’s runoff, enjoying a 544-vote lead, after 24 precincts were counted.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Otis Griffin was leading Dennis Darby 6,014-5,470, according to unofficial results.

About 1,200 absentees were being scanned in the circuit clerk’s office, with the results expected by midnight, said Roland McMinn, chairman of the non-partisan Panola County Election Commission.

The election commission was also bringing back a card that had been left in a voting machine at the Mt. Olivet fire station.

The final election results, including absentee ballots, were expected to be posted later tonight on

In the only other local race, Mike Wilson outpolled Hal Johnson 2089-1042 to handily win a justice court judge’s seat.

In the 17th District race for circuit court judge, Gerald Chatham Sr. was declared the winner after results were announced in five counties.

Chatham’s opponent, Stan Little, polled best in Panola County, where he trailed Chatham by 58 votes.

Chatham handily won countywide races elsewhere, in Yalobusha, Tate, Tallahatchie and DeSoto counties.

Read The Panolian Friday for more in-depth coverage of the election results.