NP Athletic Banquet

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 1, 2010

NP honors athletes in banquet

By Myra Bean

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

One of the final sports banquets of the year was held by North Panola on Wednesday, May 19. The annual banquet was iffy for a while due to budget restraints and parents got together to raise the funds to present the athletes’ awards.

The crowd enjoyed a fish dinner with slaw and spaghetti as its sides. Shunbrea Wooten did a musical prelude and coach Bobby Brown said the invocation. Jenisha Jackson welcomed the crowd and Deandrea Walker entertained with musical selections.

Though the parents were the last awards given by athletic director and head football coach Clifton Davis Jr., they are the reason there was a banquet. Parents recognized with plaques are Winnie Russell, Rose Loveberry and Brown.

Starting the awards presentation was outgoing principal Randy Ball with the academic awards known as the Larry Farmer Awards. They were presented to Cortez Hibbler who graduated ninth in the class Wednesday night and to Andrequez Taylor.

The Eric Watson Award was presented by Michael Britt to Darius Loveberry.


Pam Preston recognized all the cheerleaders with special recognition to captain Rileshia Butts, co-captain Treneshia Harris and lead cheerleader Marquisha Taylor. Shunbrea Wooten was recognized as an All-Star cheerleader.

Track and Field

Track awards were presented by head coach Robert Hunter and assistant coach Jocelyn Frost. Angelica Davison was the girls MVP and Darius Loveberry was the boys MVP who placed fourth in state competition. Quinella Turner and Eric Hibbler were recognized for making it to regional in shot put.

Girls Basketball

In girls basketball three seniors were named All-Division 2-4A, Catonya Newsom, Brittany Patton and Jenisha Jackson. Newsom and Patton were recognized for signing with Northwest to play next year. Jackson signed to play with Mississippi State University.

Patton was named the MVP and described as a “silent leader” by head coach Chris Yancy. She scored 1,053 points in three years. Newsom was named the team’s offensive MVP with 880 points over the last three years.

Jackson was named the defensive MVP with 72 blocks of the team’s 80 blocks this season. In three years Jackson has scored 809 points. She made  32 on her ACT and made All-State her sophomore and senior years.

The three seniors plus Audrey Taylor scored 3,159 points in three years.

Other basketball awards went to : Nadashaney Montgomery, most improved; Cearea Jackson, most determoned; Audrey Taylor, playmaker of the year; Teariny Wheatley and Candace Mottley, rookies of the year; and Angelica Davidson,  hustle award.

JV Boys Basketball

Junior varsity basketball boys were recognized by coach Keith Thomas. Awards were presented to Devonte Howard, offensive MVP; Brrandarius Kirkwood, best free throw shooter; Cordarryl Phillips, leadership; nad Zach Gardner, outstanding rebound leader.

Varsity Boys Basketball

Varsity basketball boys were recognized by head coach Leroy Boyd. Ricky Hun was named MVP and made the All-District team.

Loveberry was the defensive player of the year. Making the All-District team and junior player of the year was Brandon Bagwell.

Deunta Howard was named the sophomore of the year and also recognized for having the highest scores in both biology and math.

Rookie of the year is Devonta Howard.


Before the football awards were handed out by Davis, the players received a strong public reprimand. Attendance at spring practice was spotted and erratic. Davis had to cancel the spring game at Lake Cormorant. He had to cancel last year’s spring game because of lack of attendance.

Davis reminded the crowd that at the beginning of fall practice last year only five players showed up the first day and three the second day.

Named the MVP and receiver of the Clifton Davis award was Cortez Hibbler.

Darius Loveberry received the Michael Smith Award for defensive MVP. “He never gives up,” Davis said.

Best receiver award named Booze-Gross-Johnson went to Ricky Hunt.

Other football awards presented include: Vernon Lewis, outstanding offensive player; Curtis Arnold, outstanding defensive player; Eric Hibbler, best offenisve lineman; Teon Arnold, best defensive lineman; Martez Hooks, best defensive back; Terrance Miles, PAT kicker; Antuan Armstrong, most coachable freshman; Tony Hibbler, rookie of the year; James Heffner, most coachable sophomore; Ronald Keys, most coachable junior; Marque Phillips, most coachable senior; Kendrick Callicutt, most dependable; and Aricus Diggs and Roderick Davis, effort awards.

Ball finished the banquet with his thank you’s, encouragement to the students and a farewell to the athletes.