Jackson, Mettetal prioritize legislative agendas 1/6/2015

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Jackson, Mettetal prioritize legislative agendas

Jackson seeking first full term

By John Howell
State Representative Lataisha Jackson, who will seek her first full term as District 11’s representative in the Mississippi House with the 2015 election, has identified water infrastructure improvements for Panola and Tate Counties as a priority in her agenda during the 2014 Legislative session that starts today.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“I felt like this was the best project we could pursue to help this area economically,” Jackson said, citing lack of adequate water supply as a deterrent to industrial expansion and residential  development.

Jackson also said that she plans to introduce legislation that would establish a one-year hold harmless policy for third grade students who do not achieve a sufficiently high score on a newly-required reading test. A state law passed last year requires that third graders who score at the lowest achievement level on a statewide reading test.

“It’s not a good to hold back kids while we’re in a battle about Common Core,” the District 11 representative said. Under her legislation, third graders would take the test as scheduled. Students reading below the required proficiency level would be identified and provided help but not held back this year.

Jackson was elected in special election in 2013 to represent District 11 following the death of Representative Joe Gardner. District lines, redrawn for the 2015 election to bring Mississippi legislative districts into compliance with the 2010 Census, place all of the northwest Panola County formerly in House District 9 into Jackson’s district.

District 11 also includes two precincts in southeast Tate County. The southern part of the district extends to include the Enon precinct. The Courtland precinct was added to District 11 with redistricting.

In the legislature, Jackson serves on the Agriculture, Energy, Public Property, Youth and Family Affairs Committees and the Select Committee on Railway Development.