Taylor elected chair of land commission 11/14/2014

Published 12:00 am Friday, November 14, 2014

Taylor elected chair of land commission

By Rupert Howell
Sledge Taylor of Como will serve as Panola County Land Commission’s chairman following the monthly meeting Monday night in Batesville. Taylor formerly served as the commission’s vice-chairman.

Long time member Danny Jones was elected by the commission to serve as vice-chairman and new commission member Woody Drake was elected to serve as board secretary. All officers were elected unanimously.

Taylor replaces chairman Danny Walker whose term expired this month. His position was filled by Kirk Rowsey, both Supervisor District Three residents.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Drake fills Bob Haltom’s District Five slot which also expired. He was appointed by District Five Supervisor Cole Flint.

The 10-member board consists of two members from each supervisor district. They include: Verna Hunter, Tim Holliday, Taylor, Frank Carter, Arleen Wilson, Rowsey, Danny Holland, Jones, Wanda Carmichael and Drake.

Commissioners are tasked with making recommendations to Panola County’s Board of Supervisors concerning changes in classification of property. They can also grant variances to property classifications. An enforcement officer who also serves as flood-plain manager, a position currently held by Chad Meeks, works with and oversees commission actions. Meeks works closely with Field Dew, regional environmentalist with Mississippi Department of Health.

Commissioners meet the second Monday of each month alternating between courthouses with the next meeting scheduled for December 8 at 6 p.m. at Sardis Courthouse.