ND Athletic Banquet

Published 12:00 am Friday, January 14, 2011

Athletes honored at ND banquet

By Brad Greer

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Although they fell one game short of a State AA championship appearance, the North Delta football team racked up a host of post-season honors as the Green Wave held its annual fall sports banquet last week.

Twelve players were named to the 1-AA first team All-District squad while 10 others earned Honorable- Mention honors. Seniors Bryan “B.” Nickle and Michael Magee walked away with five awards while linemen Will Reynolds garnered four awards.

The first-team offense included: Tres Brasell (running back), John Cody Dalrymple (wide receiver), Nickle (quarterback), tackles Anthony Pike and Reynolds, and Sy Pritchard (guard). Carson Bailey and Will Dunlap (defensive ends), Magee (linebacker), Corbin Baker (cornerback), Reynolds, and safety  Derrick Shawn were all-first team selections.

Six players were named to the Honorable-Mention All-district team while four others were named to the defensive team. Bailey (guard), senior wide receivers Jim Tom Copeland and Baker, Kyle Devazier (center), Kasey Livingston (tight end), and Magee (fullback) were added on the offensive side of the ball.

Junior cornerback Bailey Guckert, Dalrymple (safety), and linebackers Pritchard and Taylor Morris headlined the squad.

Other awards winners included: Nickle (District 1-AA Most Valuable Back, North All-Star, team captain and team offensive Most Valuable Player); Magee (North All-Star, team captain, co-defensive Most Valuable Player); Reynolds (District 1-AA Most Valuable lineman, North All-Star, team captain, and co-defensive Most Valuable Player),  Dalrymple (team captain) and Copeland (team skill-player award).

Team awards and certificates in Junior High football,  varsity and junior high cheerleading and fast-pitch softball were also given out during the banquet. Many supporters of North Delta were honored as well.

Parker Jones walked away with the Most Valuable offensive back on the junior high Green Wave football team. Bradley Booth (Most Valuable Offensive lineman), Tyler Beard (Most Valueable defensive back) and Hunter Pitcher (Most Valuable Defensive Lineman) all received awards.

Head softball coach Damon Plummer handed out softball awards to a host of players who captured their fourth straight district championship last fall.

Mary Jane Morrow, Vicky Johnson, Madison Greenlee, Bradi Beard and Laci DuBravec were all named to the All-District team while Johnson was selected to the MAIS All-State team as well as team MVP and co-captain.

Plummer awarded Peyton Rico, Courtney DuBravec, Anna Lloyd, Mary Beth Johns and Hannah Heafner the “Rising Star” Award.  Greenlee was named the team “360” award while Beard snagged the Golden Glove award. The team Slugger award went to Laci DuBravec. Erin Snider picked up the “Heart of a Champion” team award.

Morrow and Greenlee joined Johnson as team captains while Plummer tabbed Hastings Neal as the team’s Most Improved Player.