Transportation Commissioner

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Deadline comes, seven seek office after Minor death

By Billy Davis
Seven candidates met a mandatory December 10 deadline to qualify to run for Northern District transportation commissioner.

A spokesman for Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann announced the qualifiers Monday.

The special election is set for January 11, now just four weeks away.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

State Rep. Warner McBride, of Batesville, was listed among those seeking the public office. He told The Panolian last week that he planned to qualify last Friday.

Others listed as candidates are:

•    John Caldwell Sr., Nesbit

•    Dennis Grisham, Dumas

•    Joey Hood, Marietta

•    Larry Lee, Grenada

•    Ray Minor, Holly Springs

•    Mike Tagert, Starkville

The special election follows the Nov. 1 death of Bill Minor, who was serving his second term as transportation commissioner.

The three-member Mississippi Transportation Commission sets policy for the Miss. Department of Transportation and hires its executive director.

The Northern District covers 33 counties in North Mississippi.