Ballots set for March 12 primary

Published 10:00 am Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Staff Report
Mississippi will hold its presidential primaries on Tuesday, March 12, a week later than Super Tuesday,
the day that 16 states will have their primaries, and generally the balloting that determines each party’s
nominee for the November general election.
In Panola County, the Democratic primary ballot will have no choices for voters, as President Joe Biden
is the only candidate for President, Ty Pinkins is the only candidate for U.S. Senate, and incumbent Rep.
Bennie Thompson is the lone contender for the 2nd Congressional District seat in the House of
On the Republican side, the ballot will have the names of Ron DeSantis, Nikki Haley, Vivek Ramaswamy,
and former President Donald Trump.
Next week’s edition of The Panolian will have sample ballots from each party, and a list of poll managers
for the primary.
Both DeSantis and Ramaswamy have suspended their campaigns (before the ballot as approved) and
Haley may no longer be in the race for the Republican nomination by March 12, depending on her
performance nationally on Super Tuesday.
Republicans do have choices for the open Senate and House seats.
In the Senate, incumbent Sen. Roger Wicker, first elected in 2007, has strong opposition from two
candidates, Ghannon Burton and Dan Eubanks.
Burton is a retired colonel from the U.S. Air Force, who had considerable combate and instruction
experience in a 30 year career.
Eubanks has served in the MS House of Representatives for eight years, representing DeSoto County.
In the 2nd District House race, Ron Eller, Andrew Scott Smith, and Taylor Turcotte have all qualified to
run for the Republican nomination to face Rep. Thompson in the general election.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox