Today is deadline for 2015 candidates 2/27/2015

Published 12:00 am Friday, February 27, 2015

Today is deadline for 2015 candidates

By John Howell
With today’s 5 p.m. qualifying deadline fast approaching, 38 candidates had qualified for county and district offices by noon Thursday.

Latessa Salter and Paul Shivers had been the latest candidates to qualify before the courthouse offices closed at noon Wednesday due to increasing snow accumulation.
Salter is challenging incumbent Panola Circuit Clerk Melissa Meek-Phelps. Both are Democrats.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Shivers is seeking the office of Justice Court Judge, District Two, also as a Democrat.
At presstime, Tax Assessor/Collector David Garner (D) is unchallenged in his re-election bid as are Coroner Gracie Gulledge (D) and County Attorney Gaines Baker (D).

Incumbent Chancery Clerk Jim Pitcock (I) in also unopposed in his re-election bid. So are incumbent First Court District Constable Buck Harris (D), incumbent District One Supervisor James Birge and incumbent First Court District Justice Court Judge Mike Wilson (D), all unopposed at this presstime rendered earlier than normal on Thursday due to ongoing inclement weather.

Mark Whitten (D) is presently the only candidate to have qualified for Sheriff. Incumbent Sheriff Dennis Darby and former Sheriff Otis Griffin have both said they intend to qualify by today’s deadline.

Nine candidates have qualified to replace outgoing District Two Justice Court Judge Bill Joiner, who is retiring.

Jason Chrestman (D) is running for the District Two judge’s post as are Terry Smith (D), Chuck Tucker (I), James Weaver (I), Donnie Shaw (D), Jay Johnson (D), Mike Wilkie (D), Ernie Capwell (D) and Paul Shivers (D).

Incumbent Second Court District Constable Ray Hawkins (D) is being challenged by Earl Burdette (I) and Albert Perkins (D).

In the District Two Supervisor’s race, incumbent Vernice Avant (D) is challenged by William L. Pride Jr. (D) and Roger Salter (D).

For Supervisor District Three, incumbent John Thomas (D) faces a challenge from Boyce “Crow” Crowell (D), John McCollum (I) and Ken Williams (R).

For Supervisor District Four, incumbent Kelly Morris (D) faces challenges from Keith A. Moore (D), Donald Phelps (D), Michael H. Moore (I) and Joe Horton (I).

For Supervisor, District Five, incumbent Cole Flint is being challenged by Ted Stewart (I) and Deliley Gatson (D)