SP School District

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 7, 2008

School trustees approve hirings, transfers at junior high, elementary

By Rupert Howell

School trustees for South Panola District approved employment for several administrative positions, rearranging existing staff and bringing new staff for the certain positions as recommended by district Superintendent Keith Shaffer Friday during a special called meeting.

South Panola assistant principal Leslie Busby was named Batesville Junior High principal and LaSherry Irby, a South Panola product currently employed in Coahoma County, was named Batesville Elementary School principal.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Assistant Junior High principal Matthew Dillon is being transferred to the high school’s assistant principal’s slot and Pope School Assistant Principal Cedric Graham is being transferred to an assistant principal position at Batesville Junior High School.

Jeremiah Burks of Olive Branch, who is currently serving in Memphis City Schools, is the new director of personnel, and Rhonda Robertson, who has held a similar position in Pontotoc County, is the new director of food services.

Board members approved the new hires unanimously with board president Lygunnah Bean stating, “This is kinda’ gutsy, but its what we got to do in our business –shake things up.”

Shaffer said newly employed administrators will be expected to be members of the community and live within the district when questioned by board members.

Shaffer noted that two administrative positions are yet to be filled — a second assistant principal at Batesville Junior High and an assistant principal at Pope.

Board members also agreed to hire Jay Ford as an additional instructional technology technician.

Resignations/retirements were accepted from high school social studies teacher David C. Drummond, junior high science instructor Staci Lowrie and Pattie Harrison Wrenn, teacher at Batesville Elementary School.

Other hirings approved at Friday’s meeting included: high school, Susan Movitz, Robin Cotten and Caitlin McLarty; junior high, Beth Cobbs; Batesville Intermediate School, Heather Harrison; Batesville Middle School, Elizabeth Benson and Batesville Elementary School, Alisa Russell, April Tindall, and Heather Harrison.

Trustees also approved a teacher pay scale that increases local supplement from $1,000 per year to $1,250.

Beginning teachers with an “A” certificate would receive $32,150 per year and a teacher with 35 and above years experience with a “AAAA” certificate would receive $62,150.