Myra Bean’s column

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, January 8, 2008

19 contestants remain in Super Bowl Contest

Back in the summer, we ran a NFL Super Bowl contest that ended before the regular season began. Forty-four (44) of the 169 entries made it past the regular season.


This past week 11 more were eliminated after the Wild Card games were played leaving 33 entries. Some participants qualified with two or more entries.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

With four teams having a bye week, 21 of the 44 were automatically still alive in the contest.

There was an unforeseen problem which occurred in the contest because we failed to realize how good at predicting football many of you were. Eleven people chose the New England Patriots and Dallas Cowboys to make the Superbowl. Eight chose the Indianapolis Colts and Dallas Cowboys. Since there is a real possibility one of these matchups may occur, the top three winners will be chosen by random drawing. We did not put a tie breaker in place in case this situation occurred and the managing editorial staff felt this is the fairest way this could be handled.

Making it this far, congratulations go to Dwayne Ales, David Aven, Ollie Battle, Casey Caine, Tommy J. Campbell, John Findley, Shirley R. Garrett, Sue Defalco-Tabbert, Joe James, Clinton Jenkins, Ethel Jenkins, Scott Heath, Lucinda McKinney, Bob Mooney, Donna Mooney, Bertha Spencer, Rickey Stanford Sr., Ana Stroupe and Kyra Tyson.

Grand prize is a recliner from Unclaimed Furniture and a television from a yet to be determined sponsor.

Matchups this week are Jacksonville Jaguars at the undefeated New England Patriots Saturday at 7 p.m. and San Diego Chargers at Indianapolis Colts Sunday at noon both on CBS in the AFC Divisional playoffs.

In the NFC Division playoffs are the Seattle Seahawks at Green Bay Packers on Saturday at 3:30 p.m. and New York Giants at Dallas Cowboys Sunday at 3:30 p.m. both on FOX.

The final winners of the contest will be announced after the conference championships on January 20.

Contact Myra Bean at