Runoff election today for 2nd Congressional District primary candidates

Published 9:14 am Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Mississippi’s Primary Runoff Election Day is today or the Second Congressional District. The April 2 ballot features a runoff for the Republican nominee.

Candidates Ron Eller and Andrew Scott Smith will appear on Tuesday’s ballot.

As a reminder, only those who cast a republican ballot or did not vote in the primary election may vote in the Republican primary runoff.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

To familiarize yourself with the upcoming election, visit the My Election Day portal to receive election information tailored to your specific address.

Polls for the April 2 Primary Runoff Election will open at 7:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m. Any voter in line at 7:00 p.m. is legally entitled to cast a ballot.



  • In-Person Absentee Voting Deadline: The last day to absentee vote in-person was Saturday, March 30.
  • Mail-In Absentee Voting Deadline: All mail-in absentee ballots must be postmarked by April 2 and received by county Circuit Clerk Offices by April 9.
  • Voter ID Affidavit Ballot Deadline: Voters who cast an affidavit ballot by reason of voter ID must present an acceptable form of photo ID to their Circuit Clerk’s Office by April 9.
  • Polling Place Location: Visit the polling place locator on the My Election Day portal, or contact your county Circuit Clerk’s Office or local Election Commissioners to verify your polling place.
  • Voter Photo ID: Voters are required to show photo identification at the polls. A voter without an acceptable form of photo identification is entitled to cast an affidavit ballot.
  • Campaigning: It is unlawful to campaign for any candidate within 150 feet of any entrance to a polling place, unless on private property, or to cause any disturbance about the polling place, even if more than 150 feet away.
  • Loitering: The polling places should be clear for 30 feet from every entrance of all people except elections officials, voters waiting to vote, or authorized poll watchers.
  • Camera Phones: Voters are prohibited from taking pictures of their marked ballot.